School of Public Health

Makerere University School of Public Health (MakSPH) is one of the five Schools under the Makerere University College of Health Sciences, a constituent College of Makerere University. Established, in 1922, Makerere University is one of the oldest Universities in Africa and is currently ranked the 2nd best in research in Africa. It was the first university in East Africa to offer degrees in public health and it remains the leading School of Public Health in the region.

MakSPH conducts research and provides consultation services to the Government of Uganda and various national and international health organizations as well as bilateral and multilateral agencies involved in health.

It has four major departments;

  • Health Policy, Planning and Management
  • Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • Disease Control and Environmental Health
  • Community Health and Behavioural Sciences.