School of Medicine

The School of Medicine (SoM) is one of the four Schools that constitute Makerere University College of Health Sciences (MakCHS). The School started as a Faculty of Medicine in 1924 and was transformed into the School of Medicine in 2009 with 14 academic departments;

- Department of Anaesthesia
- Department of Child Health  Development Centre
- Department of Medical Biochemistry
- Department of Paediatrics And Child Health
- Department of Ear, Nose, and Throat
- Department of Community Health (Family Medicine)
- Department of Medical Illustration
- Department of Internal Medicine
- Department of Obstetrics And Gynaecology
- Department of Ophthalmology
- Department of Orthopaedics
- Department of Psychiatry
- Department of Radiology
- Department of Surgery

The teaching staff are from MakCHS and the Ministry of Health. The School's campus is located on Mulago Hill, Northeast of Kampala, with Mulago and Butabika National Referral hospitals and Kiruddu and Kawempe hospitals as the major teaching hospitals.

The School of Medicine has active collaborations with various Universities outside Uganda and strives to adhere to excellence in training, research and service to patients with the highest level of professionalism.

Visit the School of Medicine website for more details